top of page
Search
  • csmith1046

Reflection

Caleb Smith

Professor Hammett

1302

2 May 2022

Reflection Essay

Academic writing has always been an intimidating thought, but I was prepared for it. I decided to do collegiate high school, and it was scary at first and most of all, I feared college level writing and plagiarism. I understood that formatting at the academic level was specific and college level material was much harder to find. I am glad that I took composition because it made me discover I am actually not a terrible writer and it prepared me for the next step in my life.

This last year, I have learned a lot about how to find scholarly sources and how to write academically. I also discovered tools like ProWritingAid and learned how to write several types of essays. The experience I have gained from this writing has made me confident that I will be able to write good essays at a four-year university.

Absurd fiction is one of the more unusual topics I have ever been introduced to. I think it made me learn a lot about my topic, though. I had read Orwell’s novels before, but it never occurred to me they can be considered absurd fiction. I am glad I did the research on education that I did because that has always been my number one priority. It is sad to learn more about how little education is valued in our society and hopefully school here at com will let me make a difference when I graduate.

I am very satisfied with the experience I had in this class and for a subject I have always struggled with and enjoyed very little. I really enjoyed writing this year. Learning to enjoy writing is especially important to me because of how important writing and English skills are in the real world.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page